Podbiel

Erb obce Obecný úrad Podbiel
Podbiel 210
027 42 Podbiel

Phone: 043/538 10 31
Fax: 043/538 11 65
E-mail: podbiel@orava.sk
Www: www.podbiel.sk

History

The first written evidence of Podbiel is from 1556. Number of inhabitants: 1225 Elevation:550 m a.s.l. The name comes from the hill Biel or Biela Skala, which has been established a natural landmark. A flour treadmill, a brewery and two saw-mills were built in 1786. Wooden and metal huts dating to 17th century had a great tradition here. In 1836 there was built a blast-funace for melting an iron ore that came from villages Zuberec and Malatiná. Railway route between Oravský Podzámok and Tvrdošín was built in 1899. 

Sights

Roost on the top of the hill Biel - archeological locality. Folk architectural community- unique group of 64 traditional wooden huts/ Bobrova rala/-preserved from the last century. Trinity sacrosanct column that is located next to cemetery is from 1870. The Františkova huta metalworks from19th century are located along the road from Podbiel to Zuberec.

Accommodation

Penzión Starý Pivovar , Phone: 043/538 10 17 , mobil: 0903 690 490

Photo galery

Drevenice-pamiatková rezervácia
Drevená plastika v pamiatkovej rezervácii
Zachovalé drevenice v Podbieli

back to previous page   print version
ONLINE REZERVÁCIA LETENIEK
Miesto odletu:
Miesto príletu:
Datum odletu: (DD.MM.RRRR) hviezda logo
Datum návratu: (DD.MM.RRRR)
Poskytovatelom rezervačného systému leteniek je www.hviezda.sk